Popular culture, for me, has always been a rather fluid concept. I tend to go through ‘phases’ of consuming different forms of culture. How I interact with culture is represented in what I do in y down time. For a while, I could be constantly listening to music and then slowly transition to binge watching TV shows. After that, I could be ploughing through the unread books on my shelf.

Right now, I am transitioning from TV shows to movies. This could be the fact that, as TV shows go on, there is a law of diminishing returns. That is, there are only so many ways you can tell the same story well. Watching multiple episodes in one sitting tends to reveal these weaknesses. Whereas, with movies, each one is it’s own story told with originality. Every element of the movie making process adds a different spin on the story or the look of the film; writing, directing, cinematography etc.

I suppose these phases can be summed up as, ‘Do I want variety or do I want to stay in the same world with the same characters for a while?’

