We watched the documentary RIP! A Remix Manifesto and I found it to be quite interesting and thought provoking.

Copyright law exists to help protect the livelihoods of creators and ensure that they are properly reimbursed and credited for the work that they did. The application of these laws falls apart in this modern age of instantaneous communication and file sharing. Many would argue that, if I buy a song and download it to my device, I now own that song and am free to use it however I want. I could cut it up, remix it or use it in a project I’m working on.

However, this isn’t the case. In 2012, a news story circulated that involved a legal battle between Bruce Willis and Apple over the right to bequeath his digital music collection to his daughter after he died. The story turned out to be fake but it did spark the discussion of ownership of digital media.

According to Apple’s terms of service (which of course, you’ve all read) songs purchased on the iTunes platform are not then owned by you. You are essentially renting them. This means that when the contract expires (when you die), transferring the media to another person is, technically, illegal.

 

