Reading the introduction to the book Deep Work by Cal Newport, I started to imagine myself actually engaging in the suggestions he puts forward.

Newport examines the notion that we, as a society, have become much shallower in our working lives. Our attention is spread too thinly across many different distractions such as social media, email etc. The counter to this is what Newport describes as “Deep Work”. Shutting off all external distractions and focusing completely on the task at hand. No email, no Facebook, nothing else other than the work in front of him.

I was envisioning myself going home this evening and shutting off the wifi, leaving my laptop closed and actually focusing on reading the rest of the book. I got to the end of the excerpt that was provided for us and felt as though a weight had been lifted off of my chest. Even just imagining myself disconnecting from the constant deluge of information from the internet and focusing purely on just one thing, made me feel more relaxed than I’ve felt in the past few weeks leading up to the end of the college year.

I have often toyed with the idea of “going off the grid” so to speak. Taking a break from the internet and seeing what kind of person I become when the need for another “hit” of information dies down. I feel like boredom is something that has become too easily staved off by picking up my phone and browsing Facebook for the third time that hour. I could be engaging in something far more involved and beneficial, like reading a book, learning a new skill or creating something of my own.

I think this practice will definitely be a part of my routine in the future.

