I have spent a great deal of my life not knowing what I wanted to do. I left school and went straight into working in my father’s shop, selling carpets and furniture. I hated it! I hated every second of it, but, I didn’t know what else I could do.

I suppose the main thing holding me back was fear. Fear of failure. Fear of opening myself up to new experiences. Fear of judgement. Probably my biggest fear was that college would be just like school and I hated school too, so I never pursued it.

I first became interested in editing when I came across a movie retrospective video on youtube. The actual video is blocked for copyright reasons but here is another from the same user.

I really connected with the combination of music and visuals to create a certain mood. I decided to teach myself how to edit like that. I became obsessed with fan created music videos based on tv shows and eventually got around to creating some of my own.

I feel like this is a career I would like to enter and would thrive in.

Strengths

I have decent enough skills with editing software. They’re not perfect but, I am highly motivated to learn what I can about it.

Weaknesses

Time management. This is my main issue. With college work, it’s not so bad because I have solid deadlines to meet. For personal tasks, where I have no one watching over me, things tend to get out of control.

Opportunities

Completing this degree will give me an advantage in the industry. The reason I chose multimedia instead of film was to have a range of skills not just in film.

Threats

I tend to lack self-confidence. I can feel as though, pursuing creative endeavours are not the best use of my time and could be spent dong something more ‘productive’. I’m not entirely sure where this thought process comes from.

As for what comes next, right now, my next goal is to finish this college year with a high quality project to display at Fís. This is what’s occupying my mind at the moment.

Over the summer, I’m hoping to secure a job to replenish my funds and keep my mind active. In my down time, because I haven’t had much hands on experience with editing software this year, I’m going to create a few more videos that I have ideas for.

I am planning on returning for fourth year. Since the majority of the work involved will be theory based, I will be teaching myself how to use additional software packages that editors are expected to know, such as After Effects and Speedgrade.

Also, I’m going to put myself out there more. Not just professionally but socially. I have a tendency to seclude myself.

After fourth year, hopefully I’ll have made some connections within the industry that will help me secure a job.

