Procrastination is something I struggle with on a daily basis. I believe it comes from a need for instant gratification rather than putting the work in to achieve something. I have a lot of assignments that I need to be working on (this blog included) but I find it difficult to focus on one thing for too long.

Procrastination is the bane of my existence. Interestingly, that phrase comes from the middle english word ‘bana’ meaning slayer. It is often used in conjunction with plant names, such as wolfsbane, which is a highly poisonous flower that has garnered a great deal of notoriety in mythology as a deterrent against werewolves. The concept of the werewolf in Western and Northern Europe is strongly influenced by the role of the wolf in Germanic paganism, the most well documented form of which is Norse mythology…

Sorry, I’m getting a little off topic. Where was I? Yes, procrastination. It can be very frustrating when I’m trying to get work done and my mind starts to wander. You could be researching aspects of online bullying and, two hours later, find yourself reading about the nutritional value of naan bread

I think procrastination is a human trait and not necessarily indicative of technology’s impact on us. Though it doesn’t help. If I didn’t have the internet, I’d probably get a lot more done. Then again, I also probably wouldn’t know that Julius Ceasar was once kidnapped by pirates.

